The Spirit of Excellence program honors Wisconsin schools that achieve excellence in leadership development, school spirit, sportsmanship and service to school and community.

Each year, a selection committee consisting of members from WASC, Wisconsin Association for Middle Level Education, AWSA, Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association, Wisconsin Association of School District Administrators,Wisconsin Athletic Directors Association, Wisconsin Parent Teacher Association, Rotary District 6250WEA Trust and the Milwaukee Bucks selects one high school from each of WASC’s six regions to receive the award. From that pool, one school is selected as the state winner.

Regional winners receive local recognition and a school banner. The high school selected as the overall state winner will receive a trophy at an assembly, which is filmed and televised during WIAA state basketball tournament telecasts – a tribute to the excellence they have achieved.

To be eligible, schools must be a member of WIAA and WASC and submit a portfolio that demonstrates achievement in each of three key dimensions in a calendar year beginning February 1.

Application Materials & Templates for 2016 are below!

2016/17 SHS Recipients:

Region 1:                                             Menomonie High School

Region 2 and State Winner:      Lakeland Union High School

Region 3:                                            Bay Port High School

Region 4:                                            Waterford Union High School

Region 5:                                            Sun Prairie High School

Region 6:                                             Adams-Friendship High School

2016/17 JAM Recipients:        

State Recipient:                St. Mary’s School

Runner-up:                             Bay View Middle School

Past Spirit of Excellence Senior High Award Winners


2016 – Stoughton High School
2015 – Divine Savior Holy Angels High School
2014 – Neenah High School
2013 – St. Croix Falls High School
2012 – Adams-Friendship High School
2011 – Hamilton High School
2010 – Verona Area High School
2009 – Waunakee Community High School

Past Spirit of Excellence Junior and Middle School Award Winners

2016 – Evansville JC McKenna Middle School
2015 – Bay View Middle School
2014 – St. Mary’s Menomonee Falls
2013 – Bay View Middle School

Spirit Of Excellence


WASC Spirit of Excellence Application 18.75 KB 102 downloads


Stoughton High School SOE Portfolio 21.79 MB 144 downloads


Spirit of Excellence Form - Service 18.94 KB 106 downloads